British Universities & Colleges Sport

British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) is the national governing body for Higher Education (HE) sport in the UK, a membership organisation, and a company limited by guarantee with charitable status, and our vision is simple, to enhance the student experience through sport.

We support and promote the lifestyle and educational benefits to communities and individuals of taking part in sport, and provide outstanding opportunities to all students to engage in sport and related activity in higher education.

We deliver more than 50 sports, including everything from archery to ultimate frisbee to almost 170 member institutions (now including some FE Colleges), comprising a busy league programme of over 4800 teams and over 100 championships events every year. These take place at iconic venues all over the UK, from Twickenham, the home of rugby, to the national watersports centre at Holmpierrepont in Nottingham, to Fistral Beach in Newquay to the Sir Chris Hoy velodrome in Glasgow.